Day 9: Pining

The Urban dictionary probably has the best definition of this word. It says it’s An overpowering longing for something/someone especially when two lovers are apart. With a meaning like that I suppose we’ve all been pining, or better yet, we’re all “piners”, if that’s even a word.

We all long- for days of old, and times when teddy bears were real friends that wouldn’t hurt. But we wanted more than a teddy hug. we wanted something real, or someone real. Someone that can talk back, even if their words often shot black holes through our hearts. I onced loved a girl so deeply, I swear I felt God in her touch. And when she left I question what good it was to believe in a God that leaves, and leave you longing, leaves you pining, leaves you aching.

I used to believe that it was better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all, but that was before I had loved until it ached, until it took weeks and months to get the longing of what was lost out of my system. But I realised that one can only long for what was truly dear to you, and for truly throwing yourself into someone, nothing should be blamed. It’s a beautiful thing.

Longing is beautiful when you know you are longed back. When you know someone out there is having a deep ache for you as you do for them.

For to be loved is to be longed for, and to be longed for is to be loved. Like the lady in the Song of Solomon says, “I am my beloved’s and his desire is for me”.

He is yearning…

He is longing…

He is pining….for her.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

