1 food. 1 drink. For the rest of my life.

There’s lists and lists of foods and drinks I can mention that I could eat for the rest of my life, like sushi, craft beer, peppermint crisp tart, steak, craft beer, and craft beer, and perhaps, some more craft beer (evil laugh).

How food has become an art in itself, goes beyond me. Gone are the days where people eat because they are hungry. Now people eat to throw it up later, and the less food is on the plate, the more expensive it is. Everything is gourmet; everything is organic and fair trade and going back into the community. 

There’s a ridiculously well orchestrated food revolution out there. From Paleo to Tim Noakes, to Jamie Oliver taking McDonalds to court.

All the while, more than 30 000 kids die every day because of hunger.

The organisation 20liters says that 800 million people across the world are without access to clean water. And I don’t even consider to ask where does my water come from each time I open the tap.

Just so you know, this is NOT the part where I try to manipulate you into feeling guilty for why you enjoy a gourmet boerie and IPA beer to for lunch and still be able to choose what you want to eat later, if you feel like it.

I’m just pointing you to two simple realities for actual people in the real world. People who HAVE to, not by choice, live of the same food and drink for the rest of their lives.

In prison I had the same breakfast for 5 years (365 x5). Watery mielie pap with half a teaspoon of brown sugar. I had the same supper for 5 years (365 x5). Stampmielies with variations of what’s supposed to be 2 veggies that tasted like it came from the soil to your plate, and six slices of bread.

You also only ate twice. breakfast at 07h30 and supper at 14h00. That’s it.

As much as I hated it, and hate to say it, but I would be more than willing to eat that for the rest of my life.

But for now, my hope is that no one, anywhere in the world would ever have to eat the same food or drink, if not out of choice.

Peace to you.

 

2 thoughts on “1 food. 1 drink. For the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

