“what makes me laugh more than anything else is…”

334779_2540558236441_2084539930_o

Nothing can make me feel more at home with myself than laughter. It’s the one thing I think I’m good at: to laugh, and laugh deeply.

You know those laughs that makes you reach deep for just a little bit of air, like you’re drowning in a pool of jokes? Like you have to hold onto someone or a wall, or be stomping your feet because you just don’t have enough laughter in you to express how insanely funny something is. I can never understand why some people could be so serious all the time. They never see or experience the lighter side of themselves.

Josh Riebock says that laughter is the evidence that we’re still here, the proof that our tragedies will not define us forever. Laughter is the language of the survivor.

When I laugh im saying all is well with the world, even if it’s just for a couple minutes.

I have an amazing group of friends who will never ever make me go a day without laughing.

I have this one friend who seem to find a way to laugh through anything, even pain. It’s sometimes so difficult to place him, but I find him more in his element  when he recalls that one time I said something stupid, or that other time when I dove into a shallow pool. And I never feel humiliated or “made fun of” when he laughs at me. It’s not that he’s a funny guy, or trying to use me as a clown; it’s just that he honestly cannot take life too serious.

I love him for that.

Sometimes we both laugh ourselves into fits at other people’s stupidity, clumsiness, or attitudes. We would act out scenarios, accents or stories of old and crack ourselves as if it’s the first time hearing it.

I used to let my depression define me for a long time, and felt uncomfortable when laughter tried to build a tornado in my stomach. But being friends with this guy made me forget about what defines me. He makes me believe that laughter is truly the best medicine.

Right at the beginning of our friendship he promised himself to help me experience every adventure I could never experienced as a teenager, and laughter was central to all of it.

With him I can cry until I laugh, and laugh until I cry.

It’s all the same.

Peace to you.

 

One thought on ““what makes me laugh more than anything else is…”

Leave a Reply

