Day 17: If I were an animal, I’d be…

Animals. Ah, man’s most beloved species. What man would go through for these species. Man kill for it, to protect it; man kill it himself, to eat it; man raise funds to make awareness of it; man even cries over it.

I don’t understand this.

I grew up disliking animals deeply, and it hasn’t changed. I respect them but I don’t have any interest in them at all. No matter how many times you show me a lion and his majestic authority, or cat doing a dance on youtube, I’d still say, “they’re just animals; no big deal”. I would never get a pet of any sort. I hate cat hair on my clothes; I hate the smell of dirty dog; I hate that they don’t know boundaries.

But what I hate probably most is how much more people love and care for animals than for people. WHat I hate is how dogs can come in and sleep in our homes on stormy days but homeless people can’t. What I hate is how animal food per year per family is way more than what millions of people live on.

At the beginning of creation, after God created Adam, He said to him, “Be fruitful and increase in number; fill the earth and subdue it. Rule over the fish of the sea and the birds of the air and over every living creature that moves on the ground.”

We are meant to RULE over all the living creatures. They were to be under our dominion.

After God created Eve, Adam said, “This is now bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called ‘woman’, for she was taken out of man.”

And so, man were called to live in relationship with his own kind, and exercise rulership over the animals. But how sad is it to see how these roles have changed for man over the years.

People love their animals and rule over their spouses.

People raise millions to save for the rhino but not for the orphans.

I just don’t get it.

I don’t think I can have a heart for any kind of animal, because my heart is for people, with feelings, and stories, and emotions, and a soul, like me.

So, if you ask me what animal would I be, if I had the choice, I’d say any animal that gets more attention than a human being.

Peace to you.

 

 

 

One thought on “Day 17: If I were an animal, I’d be…

Leave a Reply

