Day 19: My favorite film quote of all time

My favorite movie of all time is the 1989 Robin Williams “Dead Poets Society”. I’ve seen this movie at least 5 times, if not more. I remember the first time I saw it, I was in my second year in Bible School.

A couple of us had just started to reach out to homeless people in our area. We were hungry for social change, naively at that, but nevertheless. We asked difficult questions about our lives and our future, and our roles as young adults.

As I watched this movie for the first time, everything in it resonated so much with my life, and the way I saw the world. It was this movie that made me believe that being different is good, difficult as it may be. This movie inspired me to dream, with no box in mind. It made me aware that I have only the hours of today at my disposal, to live, dream, seize, and be.

there is not a conversation in this movie that is NOT loaded with more than what is going on in that particular scene. I drank in every word that was dripping from Mr. Keating’s lips.

As much as every other line in the movie just oozes with poetic brilliance, there’s this moment in one of the opening scenes where Mr. Keating took his class to look at one of the display cabinets on the hallway, filled with photos, medals, trophies, etc. of previous Helton boys.

He teaches them the meaning of “Gather ye rosebuds while ye may, Old time is still a-flying; And this same flower that smiles today; tomorrow will be dying”. 

“Carpe diem”

He then said the reason the writer used those words was, Because we are food for worms, lads. Because, believe it or not, each and every one of us in this room is one day going to stop breathing, turn cold and die”.

No words from any movie has ever been truer than this, nor more inspiring.

Our lives are but a breath.

We have this one life. Seize it.

As Moses prays in Psalm 90:12, Teach us to make the most of our time, so that we may grow in wisdom.

Peace to you.

2 thoughts on “Day 19: My favorite film quote of all time

Leave a Reply

