Day 23: Music

Music helps with that hole in my soul, when sleep runs away from me like a deceiving lover, and the moon is too bright, and the twinkling of the stars becomes louder than the voices in my head.

“Shut up, you are too beautiful to be so loud”, I’d yell at the stars. Rather sing me a lullaby so that my fears can know my life has meaning. I should’ve discovered that years ago, when I discovered what music does to me. I discovered, more than what I listen to music, music listens to me. Music tells me it’s okay to be out of line; it’s okay to live within and without, but music also listens to me when I say I’ve had enough of this world, it always know where to take me.

At age 11 I was introduced to my mom’s holy, “don’t touch” record collection of gems like Percy Sledge, Judy Boucher, Elvis, The Beatles. oh man, did she loved John Lennon; taught me every word from Percy’s “when a man loves a woman”; explained to me her understanding of Judy’s “dream maker”.

Like Black Eyed Peas sing, “Music is my medicine”. It truly is. It has saved me from so many edges. It has hugged and held me like only the truest of friends ever would. When mom died while I was in prison, music gave me Tupac’s Dear Mama to comfort me.

Back in college I used to hate the world so much, but music showed me how to love it; how to accept it, and how to grow in it. When Skillet came out with their Comatose album, and I heard Those Nights, I knew it was for me. I knew there were nights I could never forget- good and bad. My roommates back then, introduced me to Afrikaans rock band, Fokofpolisiekar, and my world just blew open about faith, culture, and trends in the new South Africa, with songs like Maak of BraakHemel Op Die Platteland, and Brand Suid Afrika.

I’ve been to many live concerts and festivals, but not nearly as much as I’d like to. I’ve seen how strangers cheer each other during a particular line in a song. I’ve seen how friends carried each other on their necks to stand tall above the rest of us.

Music concerts always gives me the goosebumps when I think of how many stories, cultures, backgrounds, struggles are walking about and yet we have this one thing in common.

OppiKoppi is coming up. The Lumineers are coming later. And Foo Fighters will complete my year. In-between there is some awesome local shows and festivals to tap into as well.

Don’t ever say you are not a music fan, because music is inside all of us. Let it out. Join the chorus and sing along. Don’t just give your heart to pop music that tries to dictate how you should live. Listen to the lyrics of a song and open yourself up to what it does to you.

Don’t die without a song that you can say you love.

Music smells beautiful.

Peace to you.

Leave a Reply

