Grounded!

Something sort of two weeks ago I scribbled the word GROUNDED! on a piece of paper and left it on my desk, amongst the many pieces of advice, tweets, ideas, and ramblings I jot down, when I should be finishing off two very important sermons (like now).

I have no recollection (to quote that guy) as to how the word got to me, let alone why it got to me. But it has been sitting with me ever since. It’s not the “grounded” as in, “go to your room, you’re grounded”, type.  It’s one of those, “I don’t know what it means, but it’s deep” kind of feelings. But I also know that a blog post won’t shake the word off of me, because it’s work in me isn’t complete, but I thought I’d share a bit of what it’s done in me so far.

A quick Google search of the word revealed that in a simple definition of the word,  grounded is used to describe a person who is sensible and has a good understanding of what is really important in life. If that is the case, then I don’t know how close to being grounded I am. Most of the time (with my life) I feel like I’m trying to land a plane, but I can’t find the airport, or like I should adult but I also like a good old 3-year old tantrum.

Don’t you sometimes get the feeling, that from where you sit, according to the definition, everyone around you are grounded? Because everyone around you look as if they are sensible and understands what’s important in life.

And you often feel like you don’t know.

You feel like you’re being pulled by the need to prove yourself, and, in your attempts to become grounded, you’ve become more ungrounded.

And being ungrounded sucks.

But you will always feel ungrounded compared to others (whoever they are). You will always feel like you don’t know what’s really important in life, when you compare your life with someone else’s. And comparison has never left anyone satisfied for long.

Rather, what I think grounded is supposed to mean, is that you become aware of everything that is you- the flaws, the vulnerabilities, the weaknesses, the gifts, the beauty, the joy, everything.

You learn how to be grounded by being fully here, absorbing and drenching yourself with the now.

You are aware of what your heart is telling you, and you are open to respond to it.

You are content with where you are at, but you also hold onto “there’s a plan”, because there is. Like Paul says to the church in Corinth, “Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourself fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labour in the Lord is not in vain.”1 Corinthians 15:58 (NIV)

Grace + Peace,

Ivor

**these are mere thoughts and perspectives. Feel free to engage, agree, disagree, help guide the course.

Leave a Reply

